Who are the Winners of the Most Tennis Grand Slam Titles

Photo of author

By Admin

In tennis, a Grand Slam is when a player wins all four of the major tournaments in a single calendar year. This is considered one of the most prestigious achievements in the sport. So far, there have only been two players to ever win a Grand Slam: Don Budge and Rod Laver. In this blog post, we will take a look at the winners of the most tennis Grand Slam titles and what it takes to achieve such an impressive feat.

Rafael Nadal

Rafael Nadal is a Spanish professional tennis player who has won 19 Grand Slam singles titles, the second-most of any male player in history. Nadal has also won four Olympic gold medals, two Davis Cups, and 32 ATP Tour Masters 1000 titles. In majors, Nadal has won a record 12 French Open titles, three US Open titles, four Wimbledon titles, and two Australian Open titles. He was also a member of the winning Spanish Davis Cup team in 2004, 2008, 2009, and 2011. In 2010, he became the seventh player in history and youngest of four in the Open Era to achieve the Career Grand Slam at age 24. He is the only male player to win all four Grand Slams on clay.

Nadal’s success on clay has earned him the nickname “The King of Clay”. His ability to play on all surfaces has led many commentators to regard him as the greatest clay court player ever. Nadal holds the record for most consecutive wins on clay (81), as well as having won 10 Clay Court Masters tournaments (a record shared with Novak Djokovic), and was ranked World No. 1 for a record 237 weeks on that surface. In 2017, he became the first tennis player to win 10 major tournaments in a single season since Rod Laver accomplished the feat 52 years earlier.

Roger Federer

Roger Federer is a Swiss tennis player who has won the most Grand Slam titles of any male tennis player in history. He has won 20 Grand Slam singles titles, which is more than any other man in tennis history. He has also won six Wimbledon singles titles, which is more than any other man in history. Federer has been ranked as the world No. 1 tennis player by the ATP for a record 310 weeks.

Novak Djokovic

Novak Djokovic has won the most tennis Grand Slam titles of any active player, with a total of 17. He has also been ranked as the world’s No. 1 player by the ATP for a total of 270 weeks, including a record 223 consecutive weeks.

Some of Djokovic’s most notable achievements include winning three Wimbledon titles, two Australian Open titles, and one US Open title. He is also the only player to have won all nine of the Masters 1000 tournaments. In addition, Djokovic has won five ATP World Tour Finals, making him tied for second-most all-time with Roger Federer and Pete Sampras.

Pete Sampras

Pete Sampras was one of the most dominant tennis players of his generation and is considered one of the greatest of all time. He won 14 Grand Slam singles titles, which is tied for second most all time. His accomplishments include winning a record seven Wimbledon singles titles, as well as being the only player to win five consecutive US Open singles titles. Sampras was known for his strong serve and volleying abilities and was inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame in 2007.

Rod Laver

Rod Laver is an Australian tennis player who has won the most Grand Slam titles of any player in history. He has won 11 singles titles, 20 doubles titles, and 3 mixed doubles titles. Laver is the only player to have won all four Grand Slams in a single year, which he did in 1962. He is also the only player to have won two Grand Slams in a row, which he did in 1969.

Björn Borg

Björn Borg is a Swedish former world No. 1 tennis player. Between 1974 and 1981, he won 11 Grand Slam singles titles, including five consecutive Wimbledon championships and six French Open titles. In addition, he won three Davis Cups with Sweden. He is the only player to have won all four Grand Slam finals in a row (the French Open, Wimbledon, and the US Open), which he accomplished twice: first in 1978–79 (the “French-Wimbledon” double), and again in 1980–81 (“French-Wimbledon-US”). He was also runner-up on four other occasions.

Borg’s great rival was John McEnroe, with whom he contested numerous matches, including three Wimbledon finals (1980–82) and two US Open finals (1979–80). They met a record 14 times on clay courts, including the 1981 French Open final which Borg won in straight sets; it was one of only two clay court losses for McEnroe during his professional career. Between them they played each other 51 times, more than any other men’s rivalry in tennis history.


The winners of the most tennis Grand Slam titles are Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, and Novak Djokovic. They have all won at least 20 Grand Slam titles each and are considered to be among the greatest tennis players of all time. If you’re a fan of tennis, then these are the players that you should be watching out for in the future.

Jimmy Connors

Jimmy Connors is an American tennis player who was active during the 1970s and 1980s. He is considered one of the greatest tennis players of all time. During his career, he won 109 singles titles, including eight Grand Slam singles titles. He also won seven Grand Slam doubles titles and one mixed doubles title. In addition to his Grand Slam titles, Connors also won four Davis Cup titles with the United States team.


It is safe to say that tennis has had some absolute legends grace the court over the years. In this article, we have looked at some of the greatest players in history and highlighted those who have won the most Grand Slam titles. While there are many greats not on this list, these are certainly some of the best to have ever played the game.

Singles Grand Slam Winners

Will Serena Williams win one more to match Margaret Court? Time is running out. For the men, the two most successful players are still playing and may add to their totals.

Female Winners

  • 24 Margaret Court (Australia)
  • 23 Serena Williams (USA)
  • 22 Steffi Graf (Germany)
  • 19 Helen Wills Moody (USA)
  • 18 Chris Evert (USA)
  • 18 Martina Navratilova (USA)
  • 12 Billie Jean King (USA)
  • 9 Maureen Connolly (USA)
  • 9 Monica Seles (Yugoslavia, USA)
  • 8 Suzanne Lenglen (France)
  • 8 Molla Bjurstedt Mallory (Norway/USA)

Male Winners

  • 22 – Rafael Nadal (Spain)
  • 21 – Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
  • 20 – Roger Federer (Switzerland)
  • 14 – Pete Sampras (USA)
  • 12 – Roy Emerson (Australia)
  • 11 – Rod Laver (Australia)
  • 11 – Björn Borg (Sweden)
  • 10 – Bill Tilden (USA)
  • 8 – Fred Perry (UK)
  • 8 – Ken Rosewall (Australia)
  • 8 – Jimmy Connors (USA)
  • 8 – Ivan Lendl (Czechoslovakia)
  • 8 – Andre Agassi (USA)

Leave a Comment